Ministers ban 15 ‘terror groups’

Fifteen international groups believed to be terrorist organisations are set to be banned, the Home Office has said.

These are on top of 25 international organisations already proscribed under the Terrorism Act 2000, and a further 14 already banned in Northern Ireland. They include groups with links to Iraq, Uzbekistan, Libya, Pakistan, Somalia, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Morocco.

The government is also planning to change the law so that it can ban groups which glorify terrorism. Being a member of a proscribed organisation under the Terrorism Act 2000 can be punished by a 10-year prison term.

BBC News, 10 October 2005